The essentials to know about gluten-free alcohols

Most types of alcohol are made from gluten grains, including most beers and liquors. So if you are on a gluten-free diet, you may want to stick to gluten-free alcoholic beverages. It’s definitely harder than it sounds, but don’t despair, you actually have a lot of choices! If you are on the look-out for gluten-free alcoholic drinks, here is a small list that might interest you …


Anyone with celiac disease can still enjoy a glass of wine. It is made from grapes, which does not affect people with gluten sensitivity.


You can indulge in red, white, rosé or champagne, depending on your preferences. Just watch out for additives that might trigger symptoms. Wine has been the subject of extensive studies over the years and has been proven to be an effective elixir. Besides, who said that a man needs a fountain of youth to live long? Thanks to an element called resveratrol, which is a polyphenol found more particularly in red wines, you can prolong your youth. It is a powerful antioxidant found in grape skin and red grape juice. Antioxidants help the body fight free radicals that can damage our cells and organs. Studies show that resveratrol promotes health and longevity by increasing the activity of a protein called sirtuins. Sirtuins are responsible for protecting the body against signs of aging.


There is one major exception here: Vodka distilled from cereal grains is obviously not gluten-free. Look for bottles made from potatoes, grapes, or corn.

Gluten-free vodka drinks are not as hard to find as you might think. Plus, vodka can increase blood flow and circulation in your body, which then prevents clots, strokes, and other forms of heart disease. Vodka can also help lower your cholesterol levels. Additionally, those who are watching their weight may want to consider it as it is generally considered a lower calorie alcohol. You may have heard that red wine is a natural relaxant, but this is nothing compared to vodka, which studies have shown to relieve tension better than wine. We have already mentioned how vodka can soothe toothaches, but drinking a little bit of it can also help fight bad breath. Unlike beer or wine, a glass of vodka can actually lower blood sugar levels. Vodka is most effective when taken pure, so order it pure or with ice cubes. Everything in moderation of course.


Most ciders are gluten free because they are brewed from apples, not wheat like beer.

Cider—like red wine—contains a number of antioxidants as it is derived from apples, a popular superfood. Antioxidants are compounds found in fresh foods and vegetables that help to slow down free radicals in your body. They reduce the likelihood of developing health problems such as cancer, heart disease, and ageing. In fact, apple cider contains more antioxidants than green tea, and when consumed in moderation, it can deliver positive results beyond the buzz. The antioxidants are accompanied by vitamin C, the immune system’s best friend. Vitamin C has been praised for decades by healthcare professionals and dieticians, and it continues to stand out in the healthcare community for all of its benefits. Some of the most common benefits of this vitamin include boosting the immune system, helping control asthma symptoms, and the potential to boost your mood.


Remember to look for 100% agave tequila, which is naturally gluten free. Further, previous studies have shown that consuming tequila can improve health.

A recent study conducted at the Center for Research and Advanced Studies in Mexico concluded that consuming tequila is good for the bones. A substance found in the tequila plant, agave tequilana, improves the absorption of calcium and magnesium—minerals that support bone health. Agave tequilana also contains high levels of insulin, which improves digestion by promoting the growth of good bacteria. Some people also take a bite from the plant before a meal to boost their metabolism. According to research presented to the American Chemical Society, the sugar in the agave plant, called agavin, helps to lower blood sugar levels. Agavins also make people feel fuller for longer, so they end up eating less.


Rum is traditionally made from sugar cane. So it’s not the healthiest alcohol, but it’s often gluten-free. Plus, you can always look for simple bottles and add your own elements to make the drink more interesting. Unfortunately, flavoured rum may at times contain ingredients that are unsuitable for a gluten-free diet.

According to various studies, drinking rum in moderation will give you a healthy and strong heart and lower cholesterol levels in the body. It is also a good drink for preventing peripheral artery disease. As a blood thinner, rum can be used to fight artery blockages, prevent heart attacks and heart disease. Consuming a small serving of rum can also relieve a sore throat and help treat colds. This is due to the antibacterial property of rum, which makes it ideal for curing colds. It is also often said that consuming a tablespoon of rum per day could lower blood sugar levels.